Everyone – Thank Mr. Jobs

Everyone – Thank Mr. Jobs

 

I was speaking to a very old friend of mine. Infact, to be accurate, I saw his status message “ just got off a video call with my Younger brother” and that message was posted through Ovi by Nokia. Out of curiosity, I asked him, he has bought an E7, N8 or C7? He had taken that new basic C series phone with 3G and front facing camera. I asked him, why not a high end one and his answer was, “that Samsung P1000 is a must have for me”. Everything would come later.

I know he is not a geek. He just likes gadgets. But that set me thinking. To be honest, I am pretty satisfied with a laptop and a phone but a tablet is gaining traction.

I was just thinking as to what is it, your laptop can’t do that a tablet would do. Infact a tablet would do much less than a laptop. Then I realized, tablets are not meant to replace laptops! They will not. They have created a new category.

This has been a pure marketing brilliance by Steve Jobs of Apple Inc. People were doing stuff from their phones and laptops. He created iPad as an extension of what iPhone could do.

Till not very long ago, tablets meant a totally different thing, but see, what great and timed marketing can do. We have a new definition for tablets!

Ha ha. I know, people were “fascinated” with that tablet before getting bewitched by thses ones now 😉

 So why would someone with a laptop and a phone would want to buy an iPad or a Galaxy Tab or for that matter, any other tablet?

Ease. It’s no work or rather, if you are hell bent on making work happen from that, then that’s gonna be very cumbersome. It’s media consumption. It can act as a large eBook reader, browsing instrument, music creation/consumption, videos, movies, Facebook, Twitter and gazillion apps to keep you entertained.

Now, what of these a laptop can’t do? A laptop can do all that and much more, rather much much more peps, with the exception of the “apps” part!

It’s ease. Ease with which you could do all those things. Those things are not large, not heavy and be easily carried, come online in a jiffy and are affordable. (Last heard, Tab had come down to INR 24k!)

Please understand, tablets are not meant to replace laptops. They will not sell like laptops sell but they are creating their own space.

So when I say, they are creating their own space in the market, what excatly is that space? why would someone buy a tablet or rather in Charlie Sheen’s language, why are they #winning? As my good friend Krishna (http://www.twitter.com/m_krishna ) says, there has to be a definite use case for tablets. I do see that use case!

There are many reasons to justify a tablet buy. Instant. Always on. Communication, browsing, media consumption better. tons of apps to keep you entertained while waiting for your train, doctor’s appointment, that meeting and all.

The most genuine one to me is filling a gap in the gadget armory. I will take my own example. I use HP DV4 series laptop at home, Dell Latitude E5400 at work and a Nokia E72. (Well, I guess, half the world knows I use Nokia E72! :))

I cannot use an Android as my primary phone because of awful battery. With my kind of usage, I am sure, I will exhaust my Android (if I had one) by noon. What next? I sit at a place to charge that or buy a battery or a charger on the go? Sorry, these are not my cup of tea. Let’s go to iPhone. now, iPhone is something I could have bought but I cannot bring myself to a fact that I need to spend close to 35k simply on a phone. price simply cuts that out for me. Also the hardware qwerty. What I am trying to say is, E72 as my phone serves me very well and meets almost all my mobile related needs. But by doing so, I am missing the joy, the apps of Android/iOS. Something, a windows 7 laptop can’t provide.

That’s where I see a space of a tablet in my life. It fills it! It has got larger battery, is light and is *reasonably* priced!

Very soon, my family will go out on my daughter’s summer vacation for a month. Every Saturday and Sunday is a pain for me to be at home. I typically go to a Barista and sit there. Armed with a tablet and my phone, I am ready for that vacation!! Bring it on 🙂

You see, there *is* a space.

Tablets are fantastic example of Philip Kotler’s 4Ps that I had studied in my marketing days. Tablets represent the perfect marketing mix.

I am sure all the Samsungs, LGs, HPs of the world and all those, who are jumping on the tablet bandwagon, must be thanking Mr. Steve Jobs!!

Yes, I intend to pick iPad 2. When? Don’t ask 😉

Image Courtesy: www.campussocialite.com (Tablet image)

                                www.notesdesk.com (4P image)

About Ashutosh

A family guy who loves phones, music, movies, tea, sweats and gizmos :)
This entry was posted in Musings on technology. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Everyone – Thank Mr. Jobs

  1. Arjun Parsi says:

    Good one….

  2. Nikhil Pai says:

    There you go again:
    “What I am trying to say is, E72 as my phone serves me very well and meets almost all my mobile related needs.”

    Gosh!

    By the way I disagree with your views. But that’s not new? Is it? Lol 🙂

    • Ashutosh says:

      Would really love to know, what do you disagree with here? If it is E72 meeting my needs, ha ha, I don’t care for your views 😉
      If it is something about the article, if you feel, I am missing something, pls do tell. 🙂

      • Nikhil Pai says:

        No. It’s not about the E72. Its about tablets!

        Reason 1: The only reason I am willing to shell out money for expensive smartphones is that they are with me 24/7. Its like a personal assistant for me for whatever I do, & wherever I go. With tablets no matter how much you plan you are not going to take it with you at all times. Like if you are not carrying a bag with you, you won’t be carrying your tablet at all places, no matter how much you plan to do so at the moment. That defeats the purpose as far as I am concerned.

        Reason 2: You are not willing to spend 35k on a iPhone but are willing to buy a tablet for 24k. Plus you will end up buying a new smartphone in 2012. So you will spend another 15k there. In all you are paying close to 40k for 2 devices. Better buy an iPhone for 35k

        Reason 3 : I hate carrying 2 devices. Hence I don’t carry 2 mobiles as well. For the same reason I wouldn’t carry a phone & tablet at all times.

        Reason 4: There is nothing I can think of that a large sized phone (tablet) can do better than a 4 inch phone. Except maybe browsing the web occasionally & watching movies at times. Not enough to justify the price tag of 24k.

        Conclusion: I am better off with a phone with a 4 inch display which I can carry with me at all times at all places. Its as good as carrying a 4 inch tablet with me. For everything else, I have my laptop.

        If I was in your place I would buy the iPhone.

        Hope I have explained myself 🙂

      • Ashutosh says:

        Point understood. I would rather not limit myself to one particular device with 40k stuck in that. Tablets are not THAT personal as phones. that can be used by anyone in my house for that matter. My dad, my wife, my sister. Whereas, I will not part with my phone even if it’s my wife, let alone my dad 😉

        It becomes a family device for me. Portability is absolutely not an issue. Tell me one thing, you are going to Goa. Your’s is a 10 hours journey. you fire up your laptop, see a movie, the battery dies and after that there’s nothing to do than to check if some hot girl is sitting in your compartment or not. not the case with Tablets. As far as screen size goes, you have graduated from 2” to 4” Nikhil, you very well know, how much a difference even 4.3” to 4” can be. 9” is huge. (ofcourse, I meant the tablets’ screen size here!)

        I am not saying it fits your gadget armoury or not. Am saying, there’s a market in the space I am talking about, which is very reasonable and getting absolutely convinced day by day.

        Hope, I have been clear too 😉

  3. Nitish Kumar says:

    Well… I am going through the same dilemma but still not convinced on buying a tablet (even after this post).

    Earlier the reasons were price and battery lives and now its portability. Hard to convince self to purchase one more device that can’t roam with me that freely, while most of the tasks can be performed by other high end devices.

    • Ashutosh says:

      I understand Nitish. Spending money without justifying the needs can be quite painful. however, you can read my reply to Nikhil Pai. It may make some sense.

  4. Suyog says:

    Good post but I hope it’s not “crying wolf” type again 🙂
    As other users I can not agree with you when you say you cant think of spending 35k for iphone but can spend 24k for tablet.As guys above said, tablets dont have “mobility” advantage as phone and Laptops do “most” things much better than them.
    Either way, we are lazy . I dont like using multiple devices and you find its better to use Tablet than Laptop.
    For Tablets I have same reasons to avoid as I had with Netbooks ! Convergence is key for me and Tablets/Netbooks/Standalone Music players are not for me.
    Also we need to ask ourselves, How much free time we have to play with tablet? If you are travelling phone is best , if you are at home laptop(needs you to make bit of effort)

    • Pankaj Kapoor says:

      Nice article dude. I can understand Ashu’s view point when he said about the battery life. If you carry a laptop on a long journey, the laptop will definitely die in 2-3 hours. What after that? I can see the point in use case for tablet in such scenarios especially for persons who are frequent travellers. And a tablet is not something which you have to carry all the time.

      You have your smartphone to do most of the day to day need and when something more is needed you can take your tablet along.

      From all what I know about Ashutosh, I think for his use a combi of E72 and a tablet will surely rock.

      But these are my personal views only. 🙂

    • Ashutosh says:

      Ha ha. no no. No crying wolf here Suyog. Simply because, it’s my parents who will be using it primarily. ofcourse, whenever, I am there with them or they are here with me, the device’s gonna be with me 😉

      If you are travelling, phone is best for you because you can configure your phone that way to get the maximum out of it. consider a user like me. A Nokia user who will not go the android way when it comes to phones. why wouldn;t I pick up a tablet running Android with bigger battery. I bring my office laptop to work and my phone. My office laptop is encrypted such that I can rarely use it for anything but office. A tablet can very easily fit into my laptop bag, and I am set. whenever I get to wait for meetings, I can take that out, read a book, watch a video, play a game or simply browse bigger sites without limitations.\

      All I am trying to say is, there is space. 🙂

  5. Ashutosh I’m AK57 🙂
    I won’t spend time to repeating what I have already said on my #Fb notes
    I’m guilty of mass murder of snooty brands & products
    Apple products are for Dummies
    Geeks like me never touch a pc / lappy or / iPad’s
    I use is Nokia E63 & a recently bought chinese phone
    2 cameras 3G ready touch + qwerty 4 inch screen Working on Android 2.1 ( not 3 )
    using BSNL 3G which is cheap
    I’m an open source & cloud fan
    I have an old 486 (junked by office ) with 5 1/4 fdd with Obuntu Linux

    🙂 it gives me thousands of streaming audio video’s on demand & online radio !
    whenever I need to :p
    After Jobs apple is Apes my note
    http://on.fb.me/fHVoOB
    Marketers do your internship in India how to market a tech product

    http://on.fb.me/gGPZW4
    Why I would buy an HTC or Samsung Galaxy & not iPhone / iTab
    http://on.fb.me/hLTj3k

    PS : I Mail, record my music
    Videos, take pictures , upload them on you tube, Twitsnaps , Fb , blog , my music page

    http://reverbnation.com/Lifebegins@50
    Blog tweets Facebook
    using Nokia E 63

  6. Ashutosh I’m AK57 🙂
    I won’t spend time to repeating what I have already said on my #Fb notes
    I’m guilty of mass murder of snooty brands & products
    Apple products are for Dummies
    Geeks like me never touch a pc / lappy or / iPad’s
    I use is Nokia E63 & a recently bought chinese phone
    2 cameras 3G ready touch + qwerty 4 inch screen Working on Android 2.1 ( not 3 )
    @ INR 4.5 K 🙂 Marwari Mallu Bania ki Jai
    using BSNL 3G which is cheap

    I’m an open source & cloud fan
    Hence never download big files
    So use ordinary 3G plan not unlimited
    I have an old 486 (junked by office ) with 5 1/4 fdd with Obuntu Linux

    🙂 it gives me thousands of streaming audio video’s on demand & online radio !
    whenever I need to :p
    After Jobs apple is Apes my note
    http://on.fb.me/fHVoOB
    Marketers do your internship in India how to market a tech product

    http://on.fb.me/gGPZW4
    Why I would buy an HTC or Samsung Galaxy & not iPhone / iTab
    http://on.fb.me/hLTj3k

    PS : I Mail, record my music
    Videos, take pictures , upload them on you tube, Twitsnaps , Fb , blog , my music page

    http://reverbnation.com/Lifebegins@50
    Blog tweets Facebook
    using Nokia E 63

    @kvenugopalmenon on Twitter

    • Ashutosh says:

      Thanks for reading Venu! Phew! your FB rants are worth being archival. Please post it somewhere. Really extra ordinary the way you have been milking that 486! my point is exactly that. A Geek WILL NOT see much value in tablets unless and until he brings himself to the goodies that they offer. However, as I said earlier in my comment reply to Jagan, there’s a sizable percentage of n00bs, who will lap it up simply for the simplicity that it offers. simply for the ease that it offers. simply for the category, which is THERE for the marketers to exploit among consumers, it will do well.

      By the way, it’s not just iPads and Apples that I am talking about. I also love Gingerbread, Froyo 😉

  7. Jagan says:

    Here are the different phases that I went through with the ipad

    Jan 2010 (announce date): Bah, what a stupid device, just a big iphone
    Apr 2010(launch date): Wow, the reviews and videos look interesting
    Jul 2010: Everyone is raving about it, how can I convince someone to get me one from the US
    Aug 2010(I got my ipad):Mind blowing, even better than I imagined it to me
    Dec 2010:Everyone in my house loves it, how could I have imagined life without an ipad
    Feb 2010: Damn, this is so limiting, pages load so slowly, every video I watch on it, I have to transcode and load through itunes, it’s so heavy

    Basically, what I’m trying to say is that once the sheen wears off, you realize that the tablet form factor is very very limited. It’s not as portable as a smartphone and No matter what the apologists tell you, there is no way you can be productive on it. In fact, if I had a Macbook Air or a 11inch ultraportable, it would be curtains for the ipad for me.

    Again, I speak from the perspective of a power user. In my house itself, other than me, the ipad is ideal for everyone else. My wife, daughter use it for games, my 1 year old son is adept at using the apps, listening to music or watching videos. For them, the ipad is truly a revolutionary and magical device.

    • Ashutosh says:

      Thank you so much for the comment Jagan! This one’s an eye opener! Especially, since it’s coming from an user. I was talking about tablets in general and how do we have got a space for it in the market. Am not talking about geeks. Geeks will always find a laptop more productive and would be able to detect the limitations quickly. It’s the general consumer who will be targeted and I absolutely still hold my view, out there, on the streets, the high flying n00b, the celebrity n00b, the corporate honchos (still n00bs), in them, there’s a sizable % which is being lured with every passing day! Like my friend Avinash (he happens to be from Bangalore only!), who will use a BB8520 and a C3-01 but will buy a Tab!

      Ashutosh Tiwary

      Push Mail – Powered by Profimail

  8. “He created iPad as an extension of what iPhone could do.” – this is factually wrong. Steve Jobs started with the iPad first. If you google for this, you will get some video links.

Leave a Reply

