So long, my friend

Well, the title may confuse you that I am probably going to write a tribute to a living/deceased friend of a human nature. Sorry to disappoint you here, it is for my E72.

Well, in today’s connected world, your phone is probably your closest friend. It’s the only thing which is with you always. Every day of the week, every hour of the day, every second of the hour.

After 2 and a half years, my E72 finally hung its boots. That too, because recently on my 7th anniversary, my didi and jiju gifted me a brand new Blackberry Bold 9790. (Gosh, those two non geeks were more bored of my phone than me, who was actually using it!)

Nikhil (http://twitter.com/nikhilpai ) was probably right. Only a gift could have made me get rid of my E72. 🙂 Seriously, I don’t use much features on a phone and E72 was just about ok to get me through. The battery was the thing which kept me going. Gravity and to some extent Profimail were there to see me through my social feeds and emails. Just about.

It’s been 3 days now using Bold 9790 and there’s nothing from E72 that I miss. No, nothing. Probably the battery would be the only exception.

Too early to pass a judgement on this phone but some of the things are way too obvious to observe. Extra RAM to ensure that I never see that Memory full error, buttery smooth keyboard, shiny screen and better facebook experience.

The E72’s build is something that this phone lacks so I will have to be extra careful in NOT dropping it.

However, so far, so good!

E72 is still there with me. My wife refused to use that so it’s tucked away safely in my almirah. Will always be there with me as a back up. Atleast, you can always put a sim in that any day to make calls and send SMSes day in, day out.

You have been brilliant my friend and barring one or two occasions, you have never ever given me a reason to complain in our wonderful association of two and a half years!

That’s it for now!

About Ashutosh

A family guy who loves phones, music, movies, tea, sweats and gizmos :)
This entry was posted in Musings on Phones. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So long, my friend

  1. vyomashar says:

    So Finally!!! The Bold 9790 it is… Its a good phone I liked the screen and camera that’s it to be honest.

    Anyways Congratulations for your new phone. Enjoy 🙂

    Btw I still miss my E72 😉

Leave a Reply

