Ashutosh -> Twitter 1 – 0 Facebook

The last few days, I have been a little infrequent on social media. For me, only three services are my social media. Foursquare, Twitter and Facebook. Ofcourse, I do not have an iPhone else, Instagram would have been right on top of my social media feed.

I have been barely there on Twitter, hardly on Facebook and close to zero activity on Foursquare.

I have been busy. Other than work, a little indulgence has been taking place. I got a cool Supertooth Buddy in-car Bluetooth speaker for my car, a car mount. 4 all new Michelin 140/80/R12 tubeless for the car. New snazzy vipers. Yeah, a little here and there. Now, two dents to be taken care of. Probably post monsoon.

Coming back to the point of the post, why is it that I kept coming to Twitter and not Foursquare and Facebook?

I was mobile during these two weeks. So was it the ease of accessibility? No, all three have wonderful, beautiful Blackberry apps to suffice my needs at least. Was it the circle? No exactly. That way, I should have been using Facebook the maximum given it has my REAL friends. Pals from school and college.

What was it? It was the hook!

Yes, the hook. See, I was not finding time to spend longer hours on any of the medium. I had the scarcity of time. Foursquare is good. Very good but it probably needs to evolve in US first to give tangible benefits before even thinking of India. I couldn’t be bothered less to check in just to safeguard a mayorship.

That leaves Facebook and Twitter. I chose Twitter for whatever online presence I was gonna had on social media. Why? Extremely quick timeline ensuring that you may get a link worth your read. No strings attached. You come, you see tweets, you RT, you reply, you tweet and move on. To tell you the truth, I need to gather thoughts to put something on Facebook. The simplest thing to do is uploading pics. While having a quick cuppa in a break, I can’t bother myself with taking a pic or thinking what to post on Facebook. Come on!

Twitter, that way, comes easy. Quick stream of tweets provides you with a LOT of conversation ice-breakers. You find a tweet worth responding to and boom, you are on.

In a nutshell, Twitter takes less of your efforts to mark your attendance on social media.

Of course, when I am on a laptop with time in hand, the equation changes drastically. It’s all facebook. That’s another say for another day!

That’s about it. 🙂

About Ashutosh

A family guy who loves phones, music, movies, tea, sweats and gizmos :)
This entry was posted in Musings on my life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

